Page Navigation Anchors

These are navigation links to move inside this page.

Main Navigation

HomeAbout ARTC

About ARTC

About ARTC

The Australian Rail Track Corporation Ltd (ARTC) was created after the Commonwealth and State Governments agreed in 1997 to the formation of a 'one stop' shop for all operators seeking access to the National interstate rail network.

About ARTC Map

ARTC currently has responsibility for the management of over 8,500 route kilometres of standard gauge interstate track in South Australia, Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales. ARTC also manages the Hunter Valley coal rail network, and other regional rail links, in New South Wales.

The National Interstate Rail Network comprises:

ARTC OWNED CORRIDORS National interstate rail network:
Adelaide to Wolseley
Adelaide - Port Augusta - Kalgoorlie
Port Augusta to Whyalla
Tarcoola to Alice Springs (long term lease to Genesee and Wyoming Australia)
Broken Hill to Crystal Brook
VICTORIAN LEASED CORRIDORS Mainline interstate network:
Melbourne to Wolseley
Melbourne to Albury
Maroona to Portland
Benalla to Oaklands
NEW SOUTH WALES LEASED CORRIDORS Mainline interstate network:
Albury to Macarthur
Newcastle to Queensland border
Cootamundra to Broken Hill
Port Botany
Hunter Valley coal rail network:
Newcastle Ports to Werris Creek
Muswellbrook to Ulan
Werris Creek to Narrabri
Regional rail network:
Parkes to Werris Creek
Merrygoen to Ulan
Narrabri to Boggabilla
QUEENSLAND LEASED CORRIDORS Interstate rail network:
NSW/QLD Border to Acacia Ridge

Over these corridors, ARTC is responsible for:

  • Selling access to train operators
  • The development of new business
  • Capital investment in the corridors
  • Management of the Network
  • The management of infrastructure maintenance

The remainder of the interstate rail network is still controlled by the various government agencies as follows:

  • Sydney Metropolitan Region (RailCorp)
  • Kalgoorlie to Perth (Brookfield Rail)

ARTC has a wholesale agreement in place with the Western Australia Government giving ARTC rights to sell access to interstate services between Kalgoorlie, Perth and the Port of Kwinana.

In addition to ARTC's own capital investment programs, it has also received investment funding from the Australian Government.

For access to the interstate tracks currently under ARTC management, train operators, in the main, pay a two part access charge. A fixed component, known as the flagfall, is in effect a charge for occupying capacity on the network, regardless of the size of the train. The second charge is a mass distance charge based on the gross tonnage of the train multiplied by the distance traveled.

The major operators using the ARTC owned or leased network are:

  • Freightliner
  • Genesee and Wyoming Australia
  • Great Southern Railway
  • Qube Logistics
  • Pacific National
  • P&O Transport Australia
  • Aurizon
  • RailCorp
  • Specialised Container Transport
  • Vline Passenger Service