Local rail crew take out state award for Excellence in Railway Maintenance

Australian Rail Track Corporation’s Binnaway Team scored a terrific win at the recent Permanent Way Institution (PWI) Convention in Sydney taking out the prestigious Alan Barham Maintenance Team Award.

This coveted award is highly regarded in the rail industry for outstanding track maintenance work carried out over 12 months in NSW.

The Binnaway team was responsible for the maintenance of the Gulgong to ‘The Gap” sections of the East West (Inland) route and the Binnaway to Gwabegar branch line in the Country Regional Network (CRN).

The Binnaway team installed 13,127 reclaimed sleepers in the last 12 months. 80% of all the material used on the Binnaway line is recycled from the other lease lines. This is a very environmentally friendly measure and something for which the Binnaway team takes great pride.

90% of all the project work in the local area is carried out by the Binnaway team.

The Team Manager, David Wilkinson and Team Leader Graham Watts, were presented with the award on behalf of the team in front of many of their rail industry peers. Members of the Binnaway team were also present to witness the event.

ARTC CEO, David Marchant, said that the maintenance award won by the Binnaway team was a testament to their hard work.

“Our Binnaway crew are a top notch team of professionals who have worked very hard to maintain the reliability and safety of important rail links. ARTC is proud of their work and congratulates them on this much deserved award,” Mr Marchant said.

The Permanent Way Institution was formed in 1884 in England by a group of dedicated railway people, who were responsible for development of railway track across the British Isles, and who felt the need for an avenue for exchange of track design, construction and maintenance.

The New South Wales Section was formed in 1974 to add to the development of efficient rail transportation.

Go to top